Team GB Named | EIHL Put In a Great Showing

Head coach Pete Russell has named his team for the Olympic qualifiers and seven of the ten EIHL teams have a representative.

The Belfast Giants, Braehead Clan, Cardiff Devils, Coventry Blaze, Manchester Storm, Nottingham Panthers and Sheffield Steelers all have at least one player named to the team.

They will play Italy, Netherlands and Serbia in a tournament taking place between the 11th – 14th February. The winners will head to the final stages in order to qualify for the 2018 Winter Olympic Games in Korea.

Team GB


Ben Bowns – Cardiff Devils

Stephen Murphy – Belfast Giants


Josh Batch – Cardiff Devils

Steve Lee – Nottingham Panthers

Ben O’Connor – Sheffield Steelers

David Phillips – Manchester Storm

Mark Richardson – Cardiff Devils

Paul Swindlehurst – Nottingham Panthers

Jonathan Weaver – Telford Tigers


Jonathan Boxill – Belfast Giants

David Clarke – Nottingham Panthers

Russell Cowley – Coventry Blaze

Ben Davies – Braehead Clan

Matty Davies – Manchester Storm

Robert Dowd – Sheffield Steelers

Robert Farmer – Nottingham Panthers

Matt Haywood – Braehead Clan

Robert Lachowicz – Nottingham Panthers

Matthew Myers – Nottingham Panthers

Craig Peacock – Belfast Giants

Jonathan Phillips – Sheffield Steelers

Colin Shields – Belfast Giants

Good Luck to the team! Do us proud!

*Featured Image: Team GB after their defeat to Lithuania.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s