Tag Archives: Women’s

GB Women’s U18 face Poland to start the Div 1B Women’s U18 tournament

Great Britain’s Women U18 side play host to the IIHF Division 1B Women’s U18 tournament, welcoming five nations to Dumfries with the tournament starting later today.

The hosts will take on Poland in their first matchup with a 8pm faceoff, before facing France, Norway, China and ending the week against the Netherlands with hopes of earning promotion to Division 1A.

Norway enter the competition as favourites, they were relegated from Division 1A last year, while GB will look to improve on a fifth place finish in Division 1B last year, finishing just two points above Australia who suffered relegation.

GB had to make a late change to their roster, calling up Amelia McGinlay to replace Emma Nichols who was injured yesterday in an off-ice incident according to their official press release.

Following the teams opening training session before the tournament, assistant coach spoke saying “It was good to get everyone out on the ice to get ready for Poland.

“We have a great group of girls and the coaching staff know that they are ready for five tough games in the next week.

“Some of these girls have played at this level before while others haven’t, but they are all focused on the job in hand.

“Everyone is looking forward to playing on home ice and I am sure it will be a great week.”

Source – IceHockeyUK.co.uk

Lizzie Saunders will captain the side all week with Verity Lewis and Kiana Tait serving as alternates.

Tickets for the games can still be purchased here while a webcast will also be available for those wanting to watch but unable to make it to Dumfries for the games.


GB Women’s U18 Squad.

Lucy Beal – Slough/Bracknell

Sophie Campbell – Kirkcaldy/Fife

Grace Garbett – Telford

Megan Gourlay – Solway Sharks

Emily Harris – Bracknell

Aimee Headland – Northwood Huskies

Chloe Headland – RSL Islanders U19

(N/M) Ella Howard – Romford

Verity Lewis – Ontario Hockey Academy

(N/M) Amelia McGinlay – Swindon

Kaitlyn Morrison – Ontario Hockey Academy

Chloe Riley – Sutton/Sheffield

Amy Robery – Streatham

Elizabeth Saunders – Sutton/Sheffield

Jessica Sprules – Okanagan Hockey Academy

Kiana Tait – Kingston

Jessie Taylor – Bracknell

Ellie Wakeling – Romford/Bracknell

Hannah Ware – Sutton/Sheffield

Audrey Wood – Kirkcaldy

If you enjoy our content why not give us a follow on twitter: @CTPHockey or on Facebook: Chasing The Puck